bannerresized.jpg

New line Bettembourg – Luxembourg

Increased capacity for a very busy section of the rail network.

Details

  • Start date : 2016
  • End date : 2024
  • Location : Bettembourg

Theme

  • 88_Projet-Reseau-gare

The project of the new railway line between Luxembourg and Bettembourg is part of the implementation of the MoDu strategy, implementing an integrated mobility concept aimed at addressing the challenges related to mobility and climate change until 2020 - 2030.

bannerresized.jpg

One of the key elements of this strategy is to bring the share of public transport from motorised transport in Luxembourg to 25%, is creating efficient mobility chains. These should help to optimise the time to change from one mode of transport to another and thus promote the use of public transport. The MoDu concept is based on three links:
 

  • The Luxembourg rail network, which is the backbone of the Grand Duchy's public transport network,

  • the tram, the bus, the cars and the bicycles, which constitute the various channels of transport of people and goods, from one point of interest to another, across the country,

  • interchange stations are the most suitable points of change for passengers from  private transport to public transport.


It is therefore important to create a link between public transport, private transport and soft mobility. The main measure of rail infrastructure change for the southern axes is the de-doubling of the railway line between Luxembourg and Bettembourg.

As the existing railway line between Luxembourg and Bettembourg is saturated, the new railway line project will significantly increase the capacity of the rail network between Luxembourg and Bettembourg, thus enabling:

- to ensure a more efficient connection of the South of the country to the developing areas of the Capital, including Howald,
- to improve both the offer of cross-border connections with Lorraine and international connections (TGV) and
- to facilitate freight traffic and thus the transport of goods exchanged between Germany and the Benelux countries as well as France, Switzerland and Italy (Rail Freight Corridor North Sea-Mediterranean).

The new railway line between Luxembourg and Bettembourg ensures the construction of a new double-track section with a length of about 7 km without any intermediate stops. Starting at the future exchange hub in Howald, the line first crosses the A3 motorway south of the Gasperich interchange and continues its route to the west of Bettembourg. The line deviates from the motorway north of the Berchem motorway area, bypassing it from the West. It then passes under the national road 31 before crossing the existing Luxembourg-Bettembourg line in the Esch-sur-Alzette with a crossing structure called "flying junction". After this passage of the Alzette, the new and existing lines come together until the north entrance at Bettembourg Station.

The project involves the construction of a several hydraulic structures and intersection structures, including two impressive ones. The first (OA14) is located at the junction of the A3 motorway south of Howald and the second (OA05 & OA06), called “flyover”, is at the intersection with the existing railway northern line of Bettembourg. The crossing of both railway lines requires the transposition of the existing line of about thirty meters, towards the the old route.

The project takes into account the development requirements of various related projects, such as the future transfers platform Howald, the six-lane extension of the A3 motorway, the extension of the motorway service area in Berchem, the redesign of the junction (N31) in Livange, the removal of the level crossing (PN4a) in the Rue Lentz in Bettembourg, the multimodal platform for combined transport in Bettembourg-Dudelange, the new signal box in Bettembourg as well as the future renvewal of the train station in Bettembourg.

The studies, as well as other parts of the project, are co-financed by the European Union.
confinanceue2.jpg
The contents of this publication are the sole responsibility of the CFL and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of the European Union.
 

17-09-29_Cantier_Bettembourg_AE_OA12-020513.jpg
20180802-XP011251.jpg
20180802-XP011321.jpg
Chantier_Bettembourg_L90-6944.jpg
Chantier_Bettembourg_L90-6970.jpg
Construction_seconde_Ligne_Bettembourg-11.jpg
double-voie-Bettembourg-1138.jpg
double-voie-Bettembourg-1150.jpg

bannerresized.jpg

Neubaustrecke Bettembourg – Luxembourg

Neue Kapazitäten für einen besonders stark frequentierten Abschnitt des Schienennetzes.

Details

  • Beginndatum : 2016
  • Ort : Bettembourg

Thema

  • 88_Projet-Reseau-gare

Das Projekt für die neue Bahnstrecke zwischen Luxemburg und Bettemburg ist Teil der Anwendung der MoDu-Strategie, durch die Umsetzung eines integrierten Mobilitätskonzeptes, und des Ziels, den Herausforderungen von Mobilität und Klimawandel bis 2020-2030 zu begegnen.

bannerresized.jpg

Eines der Schlüsselelemente dieser Strategie, die insbesondere darauf abzielt, den Anteil des öffentlichen Verkehrs am motorisierten Verkehr in Luxemburg auf 25 % zu erhöhen, ist die Schaffung effizienter Mobilitätsketten. Diese sollten es ermöglichen, die Zeit für den Wechsel von einem Verkehrsmittel auf ein anderes zu optimieren (sogenannter „Frachtumschlag“), um die Nutzung des öffentlichen Verkehrs zu fördern. Das MoDu-Konzept basiert auf drei  Eckpfeilern:
 

  • Auf dem luxemburgischen Schienennetz, das das Rückgrat des öffentlichen Verkehrsnetzes des Großherzogtums bildet,

  • auf Straßenbahnen, Bussen, Autos und Fahrrädern, welche die verschiedenen Kanäle für den Transport von Personen und Gütern von einem  Ort zum anderen im ganzen Land darstellen,

  • auf Umsteigeplattformen für den Passagierumschlag, die am besten für den Wechsel von einem individuellen Verkehrsmittel zu einem öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel geeignet sind.


Es geht also darum, eine echte Komplementarität zwischen öffentlichem Verkehr, Individualverkehr und sanfter Mobilität zu schaffen. Die wichtigste Maßnahme der Eisenbahninfrastruktur auf den südlichen Achsen der Bau einer zweiten Eisenbahnstrecke zwischen Luxemburg und Bettemburg.

Da die bestehende Eisenbahnverbindung zwischen Luxemburg und Bettemburg überlastet ist, wird das neue Eisenbahnprojekt die Kapazität des Schienennetzes zwischen Luxemburg und Bettemburg erheblich erhöhen und somit die folgenden Vorteile bieten:

- Gewährleistung einer effizienteren Anbindung des Südens des Landes an die Entwicklungsbezirke der Hauptstadt, einschließlich Howald
- Verbesserung sowohl des Angebotes an grenzüberschreitenden Beziehungen zu Lothringen als auch der internationalen Verbindungen (TGV) und
- Erleichterung des Güterverkehres und damit des Warentransportes zwischen Deutschland und den Benelux-Ländern mit Frankreich, der Schweiz und Italien (Rail Freight Corridor North Sea-Mediterranean).

Die neue Eisenbahnstrecke zwischen Luxemburg und Bettemburg sieht den Bau eines neuen zweigleisigen Abschnittes mit einer Länge von ca. 7 km ohne Zwischenstopps vor. Ausgehend von der künftigen Umsteigeplattform Howald überquert die Strecke zunächst die Autobahn A3 südlich des Kreuzes Gasperich und setzt ihre Route nach Bettemburg im Westen fort. Dann entfernt sich die Strecke nördlich der Autobahn-Raststätte Berchem von der Autobahn und umfährt sie westlich. Anschließend verläuft sie unter der Nationalstraße RN31, bevor sie die bestehende Strecke Luxemburg-Bettemburg im Alzettetal mittels einer Gleisüberführung überquert. Nach der Überquerung der Alzette verlaufen die neue und die bestehende Strecke bis zur nördlichen Einfahrt in den Bahnhof Bettemburg nebeneinander.

Das Projekt umfasst den Bau mehrerer Wasserbauwerke und Kreuzungsbauten, davon zwei recht bemerkenswerte Bauwerke. Das erste (OA14) liegt bei der Kreuzung mit der Autobahn A3 südlich von Howald, und das zweite (OA05&06) mit der Bezeichnung Gleisüberführung befindet sich bei der Kreuzung mit der bestehenden Bahnstrecke nördlich von Bettemburg. Diese Kreuzung der beiden Bahnstrecken erfordert auch die Verschiebung der bestehenden Strecke um ca. 30 m in Richtung ihrer alten Streckenführung.

Bei dem Projekt wird den Entwicklungsvorgaben verschiedener dazugehöriger Projekte Rechnung getragen, wie die künftige Umsteigeplattform Howald, der sechsspurige Ausbau der Autobahn A3, die Erweiterung der Autobahn-Raststätte Berchem, die Neugestaltung der Anschlussstelle (N31) in Livange, der Abbau des Bahnübergangs (PN4a) in der Rue Lentz in Bettemburg, die multimodale Umschlaganlage für den kombinierten Verkehr in Bettemburg-Dudelange, das neue Stellwerk im Bahnhof Bettemburg und der künftige Umbau des Bettemburger Bahnhofs.

Die Planung sowie verschiedene Gewerke des Projektes werden von der Europäischen Union mitfinanziert.
confinanceue2.jpg
Der Inhalt dieser Publikation unterliegt alleinig der Verantwortung der CFL und entspricht nicht notwendigerweise der Meinung der Europäischen Union.
 

17-09-29_Cantier_Bettembourg_AE_OA12-020513.jpg
20180802-XP011251.jpg
20180802-XP011321.jpg
Chantier_Bettembourg_L90-6944.jpg
Chantier_Bettembourg_L90-6970.jpg
Construction_seconde_Ligne_Bettembourg-11.jpg
double-voie-Bettembourg-1138.jpg
double-voie-Bettembourg-1150.jpg